Manner Lifestyles ( By: Blog Bye )

Manner Lifestyles( By: Blog Bye )

Manner Lifestyles( By: Blog Bye )

Kings XI Punjab entire Indian Premier League

Virender Sehwag may be mentoring only the KXIP but the former swashbuckling India opener claims, in his own hilarious way, that he has "saved" the entire Indian Premier League (IPL). 

Chris Gayle, who has taken the ongoing season by a storm and been at the forefront of Punjab's success, was picked up by KXIP at the eleventh hour in the IPL players' auction. That's why Sehwag claims he "saved" the league - by buying the big-hitting Jamaican in the dying moments for his base price of Rs 2 crore after he went unsold initially. 

The Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)

The Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) is a franchise cricket team based in Mohali (Chandigarh CR), Punjab, that plays in the Indian Premier League. Established in 2008, the franchise is jointly owned by Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, Wadia Group scion Ness Wadia, Dabur’s Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul. The team plays its home matches at the PCA Stadium, Mohali. Since the 2010 IPL, they have been playing some of their home games at Dharamsala and sometimes they also play some of their home games at Indore too.

The Kings XI Punjab's catchment areas are Kashmir, Jammu, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, and Haryana, also evident from the letter sequence "K J H PH" in the banner of the team's logo. Apart from finishing runners-up in the 2014 season when they also topped the league table, the team has made only one other playoff appearance in ten seasons.

David Miller and Murali Vijay captained the team in the first and second half of the 2016 season. The team had another terrible run in the league finishing 8th once again with only 4 wins under their belt. Murali Vijay was the top scorer with 453 runs and Sandeep Sharma was the top wicket-taker with lots of wickets, 15 wickets to be exact.

Virender Sehwag joined as head coach as the team looked to recover from two back-to-back last-place finishes in the league. He appointed Glenn Maxwell as the captain. Eoin Morgan, Darren Sammy, and Hashim Amla joined the likes of David Miller in the team. The team missed out on a place in the playoffs by the last game defeat to Rising Pune SuperGiant and ended the season in 5th winning 7 out of their 14 games. Hashim Amla finished the season as top scorer with 420 runs including two centuries, and Sandeep Sharma was top wicket taker with 17 wickets.

Kings XI Punjab squad for the 2018 IPL season includes internationals such as Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuvraj Singh, KL Rahul, Aaron Finch, and Chris Gayle. Ashwin has been appointed as captain. Brad Hodge has been appointed as coach.
on 19 April 2018, Chris Gayle stole the show with his fine century after Kings XI Punjab beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 15 runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

George Bailey continued to lead the side during the 2015 season. Unfortunately, the team could not repeat the heroics of the previous season where they finished 2nd, winning just 3 of the 14 games and finishing 8th in the league. David Miller finished the season as top scorer with 357 runs and Anureet Singh finished the season as the top wicket-taker with 15 wickets.

Kings XI's first match was in their home stadium PCA Stadium, Mohali where they beat Hobart Hurricanes by 5 wickets, overhauling Hobart's 144-6 in 17.4 overs. Thisara Perera was named Man Of The Match with 2-17 and 35*, Glenn Maxwell top scored in the game with 43. They also won the second match beating the Barbados Tridents by 4 wickets. They also won their third match of the competition against the Northern Knights and qualified for the semi-finals. They continued to win their final group match against the Cape Cobras but were knocked out of the tournament at the semi-final stage with a disappointing defeat against their IPL rivals the Chennai Super Kings, who went on to win the tournament.

Australia's T20I captain George Bailey was leading the squad for the 7th season. Other buys featured the likes of Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell, and Mitchell Johnson. Kings XI Punjab got the tournament off to a flyer, winning all of their first 5 games. The stand out player was Glenn Maxwell with his unorthodox and powerful hitting, scoring 95, 89 and 95 in his first 3 innings with a strike rate of over 200. There were many inning building innings from the veteran Indian batsman Virender Sehwag and young star Manan Vohra which made middle order batting easy and qualify to the playoffs. Due to a brilliant 122 run knock from Virender Sehwag against Chennai Super Kings in the semifinal, KXIP makes their way to the final. In the final, they faced Kolkata Knight Riders where they batted first and set a good target of 199 owing to Wriddhiman Saha's brilliant 115* (which incidentally was the first ton in an IPL final). However, due to Manish Pandey's 94 off 50 balls and his teammates consistently high run rate, including Piyush Chawla's 13 off 5 balls, KKR was able to win the final by 3 wickets in the final over of the match.

Kings XI Punjab failed to qualify for the playoffs but batsmen David Miller played one of the innings of the tournament in the 51st match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore, as he smashed 101* off 38 deliveries and included 8 fours and 7 sixes. Coming in at 51-3 in the 8th over and chasing a target of 190, Miller rectified the game and led Punjab to a six-wicket win with 2 overs remaining.